Smart Materials Hub Director Molly Stevens elected to the National Academy of Engineering

By | Acellular / smart materials – 3D architecture

The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) has elected 86 new members and 18 foreign members, announced NAE President C. D. (Dan) Mote, Jr., on February 7, 2019. This brings the total U.S. membership to 2,297 and the number of foreign members to 272.

Professor Stevens’ election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Academy membership honours those who have made outstanding contributions to “engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature” and to “the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.”

Those newly elected will be formally inducted during a ceremony at the NAE’s annual meeting in Washington, D.C., on Oct. 6, 2019. The full list of members can be found here.

UKRMP Acellular Hub Director Announced as RISE Leader

By | Acellular / smart materials – 3D architecture

The Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) has announced the ten RISE Leaders for 2014. The campaign, in partnership with the Royal Academy of Engineering, was launched by the Science Minister, David Willetts in November 2013 to mark the 20th anniversary of EPSRC.

This year Kevin Shakesheff, Director of the UKRMP Acellular (Smart Material) Approaches for Therapeutic Delivery Hub, was announced as one of the RISE Leaders. Kevin will now be paired with with individuals from government, business or media to communicate the importance and impact of their research, helping their partners to become champions for science.